RSS Feed

Dinner as performance art

Posted on

Or – Dinner: The Hawthorne effect

Or- I can think of a better way to spend my Friday night

Or- The child’s been here a month and we’re just getting around to this now because…????

I’ve been contacted by one of children’s services contracted organizations. They want to come and observe Pink so that she can be evaluated for services she may need. This wouldn’t really be a big deal except the observation can only happen after 5pm or on the weekends. And the initial email I received said it may take 3-4 hours. THREE to FOUR HOURS????!!!! For a four year old??? Whaaa???

Anyway, so apparently the worker’s already compiled some information, so it should only take about two hours now.

Oh. Well. In that case….

So, sometime after 5pm tomorrow, we’ll be trying to make, serve and eat dinner, spend some family time together and put kids to bed while Pink is being observed.

I. Don’t. Even. Know.

Just when I think I’ve seen it all, just when I think I have a handle on this fostering thing they throw something new out there.

I think I’m just gonna laugh and use lots of passive aggressive saracasm and make really awkward jokes and snort laugh at them… because if I don’t laugh, well, you know…

 

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

3 responses »

  1. My little guy had an evaluation like that. No one bothered to tell me it was going to take several HOURS. The appointment was slated for around noon I think. Not only did it take forever, but it completely meant that we had to skip nap that day. Not a good thing for a 2 year old. (Not to mention that the evaluation was ridiculous because I already knew my little bugger didn’t need any services. And once the people evaluating arrived they agreed…but went ahead and did the full evaluation anyway.)

    I was one crabby mamma!

    I hope yours goes faster.

    Reply
  2. “I think I’m just gonna laugh and use lots of passive aggressive saracasm and make really awkward jokes and snort laugh at them…”

    That’s MY m.o.!!!

    “Yeah, she usually gets pretty crabby and starts throwing things when she’s up til 10pm and being asked dumb questions.”

    I’m reading this on Sat–and hoping it went well.

    Reply
  3. What the?! I’ve never heard of this before! Gah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

