RSS Feed

Gotta wade through the muck before we can celebrate.

Posted on

In the old Flintstone’s cartoons, before Fred and Barney took off in their pedi-powered car, their feet would spin, the car not moving for a few moments before zooming off.

Or perhaps a better analogy would be the Coyote hanging, inexplicably, in mid-air before plummeting to the earth below.

That is the perfect metaphor for this day, only less comical.

My grandmother passed away this past weekend. My brother, the newborn and I will be joining my family for mourning, though the grief is less acute than one would expect having lost a grandmother.

We were close when I was a girl, but since my relationship with my father imploded, the family shut us out as well. It’s only been in the past few years I’ve spoken with her at all and it was always awkward. So much went unsaid and she was lacking the lucidity to say it all.

I’ve hashed it out with my aunt and really, for the sake of our tenuous relationship is the only reason I’m going.

This is the first time I’ve stopped running since waking this morning. And it’s only a brief reprieve before I actually hit the road tomorrow. I have to give a final to my students tonight. Do family mourning stuff out of state Tuesday and Wednesday. Work Thursday night to get my grades in. Host D’s family Friday. Leo’ll be out of town this weekend. And I could collapse at just the thought.

I don’t know how I’ll do it. But for the grace of God…

On a happy note: We got a date!!!!! AN ACTUAL ADOPTION DATE!!!!

That’s right, October 13th 2011, Simeon will be our Son. Wheeeee! Now, I can’t wait to get this week over with so that I can be all consumed with the prospect of forever  being mother to my son. Amen!

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

5 responses »

  1. I’m so glad you have an adoption date! With the huge amount of chaos reigning in your life right now, that news is good news!!

    Reply
  2. I’m SO excited for you that you got an adoption date!!!! Oooohhh! I wish we could throw some huge (virtual bloggy?) party for you all that day!!! This made my day. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Congratulations on the adoption date!!

    Reply
  4. Here to help if you need it! Sorry my sweet friend! I’m truly sorry.

    Reply
  5. I’m sorry for your loss and the weight you are carrying right now. This too shall pass…and when it does: ADOPTION DAY!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

