RSS Feed

I am stuck on crazy, ’cause crazy’s stuck on you!

Posted on

That’s Simeon’s theme song for the day. More on that in thing number four.

Five things for Friday.

1. No more info on the hives, but they’re still coming. It’s been just my hands a few times. Most of the time it’s my entire body. Today was the first time I’ve gotten them during the day and they came with a vengeance. We cannot figure out what it could be, but I think I’ve eliminated most food possibilities. It’s a little overwhelming. The doctor was no help, but she did prescribe a strong antihistamine for the night times and told me stay on an antihistamine 24 hours/day for the next 7 days. I’m not sure how I feel about that, but at this point anything seems like a better option. I’ll be starting my first dose of Atarax tonight.  She also prescribed a steroid. If the atarax doesn’t work, I think I’ll just stay red and welty, thanks.

2. D’s visit went well. I really like his family. And I get them. And they’re so normal. His uncle travels, so I haven’t met him yet, but his aunt came and spent about two hours with us. I don’t get it. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE this kid. He can stay forever and I’m 100% serious about that, but he’s got a good, nice, clean, capable family. Every day he’s with us, we’re falling more in love with each other and it’s breaking their hearts. Caseworker fail. System fail. Fail. Fail. Fail. It’s unfair to all of us.

3. No new news on baby sister. Sad.

4. Simeon. Argh!!! We signed adoption papers on him which is awesome! His behavior has been 99% awesome. That 1% is him stuck. Like seriously stuck. Whether it’s stealing, being destructive, being defiant, lying, etc… if it’s in his head to do it, he is driven. Compulsive. Obsessive. Crazy. Until he gets it. Then he doesn’t even see the issue. Leo says it’s like his morals are filtered completely through whatever that urge is, though there’s no predicting what the urge will be for or when it will surface. And it’s driving me bananas because I don’t have any idea what to do about it. He doesn’t get the discipline because he doesn’t understand what it is he’s done wrong. And in general, he’s not really being nasty about any of it. He’s just stuck. God help me. I love this kid and I am awed by how far he’s come and what a pleasant, creative kid he can be. He is. I’m mostly scared about future implications of this kind of sticky brain syndrome he’s got. Weird. Just weird. I need wisdom. Lot’s of wisdom. Currently he’s playing in his room until Leo gets home, ‘cuase I don’t know what to do with him since his latest stuckness and he’s not even a little bit phased.

5. I hope you all have a fabulous weekend. I’m off to wrap myself in sandpaper and dance the hive jive. *hugs*

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

2 responses »

  1. Did you know that anxiety can also bring on hives? That might be worth looking into – especially if the alternative is steroids. Praying for you guys.

    Reply
  2. Sweet lady, I do pray your hives go fah, fah, fah away. Hugs and kisses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

