RSS Feed

Mental health professional #5

Posted on

Ever the optimist, I have high hopes.

This is #5 in 17 months.

My favorite thing he’s said so far: We’ll put our three brains together (him, Leo, me) and see if we can’t develop one!

He doesn’t talk to us like we’re numbskulls.

My second favorite thing he’s said so far: I actually know nothing. I’m just going to get to know him (Simeon) and try to figure it out. People are complicated. I can’t know it all.

He seems rather jolly and has a pterodactyl hanging from the ceiling in his office. He scored major points with the pterodactyl.

If you’re a parent of a child with trauma and your mental health professional isn’t keeping you involved in the services, find a new one. I’m on #5 and if he’s not working, I’m willing to keep trying.

You’re not crazy. The boogy man may not be behind every shadow, but that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t be trying to make sure he’s not there.

Don’t give up. Your child can find healing. It may not be easy. And it certainly won’t be fun. But it’s worth it. You can do it. Be empowered. Be brave. Be your child’s champion. Don’t give up. And if you’re feeling weak, know there are people around who can hear and cheer and encourage and help (even if it’s only an email, or blog post, of facebook message).

This is as much for me as it is for you. I imagine I’ll be reading this one to myself again and again.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

Leave a Reply

