RSS Feed

Baby D

Posted on

He’s still here.

Which is fine because we absolutely love him.

Except it’s not because he has a family who says they want to adopt him. And I think they would be good for him.

And as hard as it is for me to say, I’m ready for him to go. Or stay forever. But I’ve been living completely in the dark for four months and I’d like to know if we’re even moving toward a permanent plan.

Usually I’m a huge advocate of my case workers. In general, I think they do a great job with the resources they have. I believe that all of the case workers I have met are strong advocates for our children. I will gladly defend the workers that I see continuing to fight for the children and families they serve. In general I believe the system is a failing system, true. But the people that serve it are not.

Except in this case. In this case, the worker is not fighting for this baby. And she’s failing. She’s failing him. She’s failing his family. And she’s failing us. I’ve written emails. I’ve made phone calls. And I’m now contacting her weekly, in hopes of seeing some progress.

So far. Not so much. *sigh*

And I don’t know exactly what I want to say about it.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

3 responses »

  1. That really is disappointing… I am sorry. But if you don’t fight then no one is standing up for this little boy… so keep going 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love that line: “the system is a failing system…but the people that serve it are not”. Excellent wording!!!

    However, it does sound like you’ve got a doozy of a case worker. I hope you’re able to get her up off her rear end and actually doing something soon!!

    Reply
  3. I know that feeling well. Maddening! Keep pushing…I know you will.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

