RSS Feed

Hi-ya Hot lips!

Posted on

Dearest Hot Lips (are you embarrassed enough, yet?),

9:36 am. As you know Simeon was nasty on the phone this morning. I don’t know if you could tell, but it started because I would not let him speak gibberish. After we hung up I asked him why he was so nasty. He said he was sad. I guess he misses you. But no worries, he was up and playing with baby D within minutes. We did have a talk about having a good attitude and that we wanted to make you’re being away from home easier. Who knows if he got it, but his attitude did change.

I’m taking the boys to the pool in a bit. We need something to do and Lawdy Mercy it’s gettin’ hot already.

Baby D. has been screaming most of the morning. He doesn’t appear to be usually stressed, I believe he has simply decided that he will attempt to communicate his needs through a series of shrill shrieks and blood curdling screams. So far it hasn’t gotten him anything he’s wanted. If all goes as planned, this will be a very short lived communication phase. Of course, I imagine he’ll be sleeping better, what with all the energy he’s pouring into his tantrums.

Oh, and did you know that he knows how to blow his nose? This is awesome.

9:46 pm. So I’m sure you read about the pool. After that, nap time. Baby D slept so long that I ended up cleaning the kitchen, picking up toys, building a fort for Simeon, deconstructing said fort approximately 16 seconds later when he moved on to the next game, and so on. Then I twiddled my thumbs.

Then I got a call from my boss asking why I wasn’t at the meeting tonight. Oops. (For those of you reading this who don’t know my work dynamic, I take my job very seriously and received an excellent review recently. I was even told that my superior’s superior was pleased even though she didn’t want me to know it… why wouldn’t she want me to know it? Another post perhaps…) So I told him that I would be there a little early the next few classes and make it up. He’s cool with it. But I can’t do that again!

At this point D was up and Simeon was quite literally (literally literally, not figuratively literally) bouncing off the walls. So, I texted Daisy and scrambled their night in an attempt to spend some time with the girls. Your brother came through and watched the kids. Bless him! I got some girl time. And a burrito. Yum. And a plan to do it again in July.

While I was driving the kids to your brother’s house I was thinking that I thank the Lord daily for the incredible man that you are. And that I’m blessed, not just because of the incredible man you are, but that your brother and Daisy are a part of that same blessing. Even when you’re not around, I know I don’t have to go it alone. And I love them for that. So, thanks for having a great brother who married a great girl so that I could always have someone to count on. Becuase really it’s all about me in the end anyway 😉

Finally, I got the boys home and in bed. Record time. I’m all set for tomorrow. Citizen review is at 9am. Pray that D behaves himself. And that Simeon doesn’t drive the ladies at your office bananas.

I love you. I miss you. I can’t wait to kiss your face. And plant a big one on your hot lips (now are you embarrassed?)!

Goodnight. Love.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

One response »

  1. Awww, shucks. We love you too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

