RSS Feed

To sing and to dance and to pray.

Posted on

I have a student from Cameroon. She’s older. Has grown children.

She’s one of the most beautiful women I have ever seen. She’s dark and thick and soft. Her face reveals her age, but in wisdom and regality(?), not in wrinkles. Because I’m certain she doesn’t have a one.

And she has the softest, warmest smile. And she’s quiet and unassuming.

The other day she told me that she likes me because I take care of children.

In her home, she spent 10 years rescuing babies from garbage and caring for them in a local orphanage.

She looked at me with a twinkle in her eye and said “It is good because someone must teach children to sing and to dance and to pray.”

I think I will carry that with me forever.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

9 responses »

  1. Awwww! God loves to whisper to us through others!

    Reply
  2. wow, what an incredible moment. thank you for sharing it with us.

    Reply
  3. Just got a little teary eyed reading that. So true.

    Reply
  4. Yes…. Well put.

    Reply
  5. Love it! You are such a blessing.

    Reply
  6. If Christians had mantras, that sure would be a good one. Phew! Excuse my while I get a tissue to wipe my eyes and blow my nose. That was incredible. (What the woman said–not wiping my eyes and blowing my nose!)

    Reply
  7. I love that. So inspirational!

    Reply
  8. Beautiful! A wonderful reminder of why we do it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

