RSS Feed

Let the record show.

Posted on

Today, after almost nine hours of testimony, witness and deliberation, when the judge ruled that rights were terminated. I burst into tears.

People around me began smiling and hugging me. They congratulated and celebrated and blessed us. And I was happy. More relieved. But I was also sad.

Simeon’s parents are no longer his parents. Legally, he belongs to the state. They made unwise choices and blew chance after chance, but somehow that doesn’t make the loss seem any less tragic. I also grieved for Simeon. He doesn’t know it yet. And may not really understand for sometime. But today, he’s suffered a monumental loss.

And no matter how wonderful we are. No matter how blessed he is. His loss with forever be great. That is the tragic reality we face.

So, we’re mourning. We won’t long. Perhaps only for the night. Soon we will be focused on the continued healing and blending of our family. Tomorrow I will talk to the case worker about what the next steps should be.

Thank you all for your prayers. I surely felt them today.

Much love.

Monica.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

11 responses »

  1. I have tears too! Many people to say prayers for tonight. And many dreams to weave as well…

    What a day!

    Reply
  2. I am catching up. Forgive me, friend.

    I love how your heart is always following his heart, first. You’re right. This is a blow.

    Grace emerges from the rocks and crumbles, yes?

    Reply
  3. I have spent a lot of time thinking about my sister on this day, knowing this day was unfolding. Though it was hard on her when she lost her kids and though it was a hars and sad day for them as well, they all know now that it was for the best. The kids, now adults, are thriving and my sister took the time to heal. The kids say they wouldnt have wanted it any other way. I pray the same for Simeon and his parents.

    Reply
  4. It is apparent that you have great wisdom concerning all that has happened. The wound that Simeon will carry will last his lifetime. But he can heal. And you can celebrate. I will continue to pray for everyone.

    Reply
  5. It is a loss, but also a blessing. I’m sorry and glad for you and your family. I pray all of you can move forward from here and grow and love and heal.
    Melissa in Durham

    Reply
  6. I am so happy for you. This process can take so long. Simeon is one loved little boy.

    Reply
  7. I believe your heartache and grief makes you a better mama. But, maybe that’s because I am aching and crying for you now.

    Reply
  8. Praying for you all.
    It seems most things as foster parents are bitter sweet. Praying that the sweet will grow, and that the not so sweet will heal.

    Reply
  9. I like what Maggie said about things with foster parents being bitter sweet. I’m sorry for Simeon’s loss. Looking to the future, congratulations 🙂

    Reply
  10. Weeping as I read this. My heart breaks for him but I’m so thankful that the Lord has brought him into your loving arms.

    Reply
  11. Oh my. What a compelling story. So much sadness in the world, so wonderful to see people willing to risk their hearts to change it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

