RSS Feed

The busiest time of year…

Posted on

And so it begins. Today is the inaugural beginning of incessant activity. I have a committment for every single night and almost every day this week and most of next.

Most of this time is joyful, but I’m already wondering how I’ll get through it all. I’m reminded of some of the hiking Leo and I have done in the Rockies. Standing at the base of the mountain is both one of the most intimidating and thrilling places to begin.

  • Tonight is my ESL class final. I cannot believe I have completed my first quarter of teaching adult ed. already. I’ve loved every minute of it, but wonder how I’ll do it all again next quarter. I feel like I’ve been through such a whirl wind of a quarter that I don’t know if I can re-create anything I did this time around. Tonight, as each of my students leave, I plan to give them a letter. I will personalize each of them, but everyone will start this way:

My Dear Students,

Before this class ends for the quarter, I want to thank each of you for your hard work. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time getting to know you all. I am by your persistence, humbled by your dedication and blessed to be your teacher. I truly believe that people like you—bright, courageous, enduring—are what make America great. I am proud to share my country with each of you.

Thank you for making this quarter a wonderful experience and an incredible success. I hope each of you has an enjoyable and restful break over the next few weeks. I look forward to seeing many of you on campus again in the new year.

Sincerely,

Mrs. [Monica]

  • Cordelia will be leaving us early next week. I am feeling better each day. This weekend I decided that after the hearing, I will have her family and anyone else involved in this case over to our home for a small celebration. It’s a way for me to be focused on the good they’re receiving and not on the grief we’re experiencing. It’s also an opportunity for us to reflect on the blessing we’ve experienced in loving her. Selfishly, this allows me to hand her to her family in the warmth and privacy of my own home.  It would be really embarrassing to snot over everyone down at CPS. So if you pray for us, will you pray that the presence of God is mighty in our home next week? Pray that Leo and I are able to offer ourselves transparent to this family and show them that we truly want to give in joy. And pray that Cordelia transitions easily and peacefully.
  • Simeon’s case is as always. The past few weeks there’s been some talk of a relative out-of-state being considered for permanency (yeah, NOW??!! WTF?!?! been there, done that), but the relative just called his worker out of the blue and asked not to be considered. Which is sad, but wonderful as no one, I mean NO ONE, thought this would be a good idea.
  • This morning, Simeon was pretending to be a spy. He was wearing monkey pajamas, a nordic-ish ear flap hat with a hot pink bubble wand attached to the strap, you know, as an ear piece/mic. He was tip-toeing pink panther style with his back to the wall and jumping around corners. Hilarious. The entire time I had this running through my brain: There once was a boy who wanted to try to be a spy, I don’t know why, perhaps he’ll try, to be a spy. You know, like the song “there was an old woman who swallowed a fly.” Seriously? I think the cold is getting to the both of us.
  • There once was a woman who thought she’d freeze, she was afraid to sneeze or bend her knees, at least in this weather there are no fleas. Still, she’d rather be in the Florida Key where cabana boys serve margarita slushies. Then she’d only have to worry that her brain would freeze. And she wouldn’t care.
  • Then end. Merry Christmas. I love you all. Thank you and goodnight.
About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

One response »

  1. Congrats on finishing teaching your ESL class…enjoy that break!
    Praying for and thinking of y’all as Cordelia moves on to her new family. I know that it will be a time mixed with so much joy and so much grief…let that joy carry you through, especially the PURE joy that comes from the Lord!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

