RSS Feed

The subject of the sentence does…

Posted on

So, I got a job. Yay!

I’m teaching English second language classes for our county.

I know, right? I’m sure most of you who read this blog with any frequency have wondered if English is my first language. I’m by no means  a grammar nazi. Or a grammar user. Commas, to me, are like sprinkles. Fun to use, and especially so in excess, but not entirely crucial.

Diagramming sentences was a fun past-time we used to do in the English dept. workroom on slow days, but not something I practice with any regularity.

Besides. I taught literature. Please pronounce that Lit-rit-ture. I loved the stories. The passion. The melancholy. Oh, how I love the melancholy. Dark, sad, weighty stories. Stories of love lost, stories of adventure, stories about loneliness and anger and rage and longing and, and, and…

And today, I taught the practical use for used to/use to. Then I told them that it doesn’t really matter because no one ever says it right anyway. I’m thinking I could have left that last part out. Especially after I saw their eager faces of triumph fall. Finally they master something and I tell them it doesn’t matter anyway. *Face palm*

After used to/use to, I dove head first into adjectival clauses. Ummm…. *crickets*

Seriously. Lost. We all were. It could have gone better.

But, (never start a sentence with but, or butt) but, I loved it! I loved every minute of it. I was in the classroom again. I was inhaling the chemical sweet smell of expo markers and white board wash. I was leaning back against a metal desk, grammar book in hand, trying desperately to explain the difference between the subject and object of a sentence. I even did this dorky little dance and threw my arms above my head in a “gooooaaallll” like celebration when one of my more reluctant students called out the correct relative pronoun (huh?).

The point is. I’m blessed. I’m happy. If I’m going to work outside of the home, I can think of no better place to do it. Heck, I would do this job for free and that’s the best kind of job there is.

Oh, and my students are from… ready for this… it’s so exciting…. Brazil, Serbia, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Mexico and two others I can’t remember. Most of them have names I pronounced incorrectly, but they were gracious. I am surrounded by stories from all around the world. These students, these people, they have so many experiences stored up inside and I’m helping them find ways to tell their stories.  Stories of triumph and sadness and homesickness and yearning and hope… I am surrounded by stories of hope. Eager, willful, hardworking, hope. The good stuff.

I promised to bring them candy on Monday if they promise to participate… And so it begins.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

6 responses »

  1. So fantastic. I can’t think of a better place for you to be. Love it, love it, love it.

    And yes, I’m starting to feel a little creepy about my Michael Cera love.

    Reply
  2. What an amazing, magical, exciting job! Congratulations. I can’t wait to hear the many stories from class.

    Reply
  3. Glad to hear it girl! Ford Escape…thank you…I was able to sleep last night…

    Reply
  4. Sounds fun and a good break. Good luck with balancing it all.

    Reply
  5. Hooray!!! I’m cheering with you, girlfriend!!! It’s fun when you find work that you enjoy. (BTW, I’m a comma junkie too.)

    Reply
  6. Yay! Congratulations! So happy for you (-:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

