RSS Feed

Get a job!

Posted on

When Leo and I first got married I was still in school and he lost his job.

So the debt monster entered our home.

Leo got a job and I quit my part-time work because student teaching became full-time.

nom, nom, nom…

Then we both had jobs, but once you feed the beast, he’s hard to lose.

A few years later we realized our focus was off, we were self-absorbed and there are ways for us to give and give big, so we quit work and planned to work serving others.

We were always cared for, our needs always provided, and while we’ve been able to stay the debt monster for several years now, we can’t get him to go.

Now that we’re looking to assume full financial responsiblity for our kids, we realize that we desperately hope for a year of jubilee. We hope to get back to zero again, to start fresh.

So we prayed.

And… today I have an interview. The job is in adult education for our county (can anyone say rockin’ benefits?!) and would allow me to work only part-time hours.

I’m terrified I might get this job. I’m excited I might get this job. I don’t know if I really want to go back to work, but I know that if I do, I’ll have more resources to make that choice comfortably down the road.

The children will be in child care while I work. I’m not completely satisfied with this development, but it is only part-time and will be fulfilling the recommendation made by Simeon’s therapist (from nearly a year ago) which I am obligated to follow.

So, *sigh* I really thought I never wanted to do this again, but now that I’m getting ready to put on my professional face (and my new professional outfit), I’m surprised to find myself a little hopeful. Who knows what blessings could flow from this. I’m trusting that if this job is offered it’s because there is a plan and purpose to me working outside of the home and I will gladly break out my trusty red pens. If I do not get this job, I will celebrate the gift of life at home with my children and trust that our needs will be provided.

I’ll post again about how it goes.

Wish me luck?

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

5 responses »

  1. Will do! Good luck with it all.

    Reply
  2. “…and if our God is for us, then who can stand against us?”

    Reply
  3. So very exciting. You’re right, God will provide exactly what everybody needs. Good luck

    Reply
  4. Wishing you luck, clarity and a solid offer of employment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

