RSS Feed

To sing it from the roof tops

Posted on

Ever have those days where the world seems brighter, safer, kinder and it’s all because of one simple act?

Today started that way.

My sweet Leo got up, after taking the night with the baby, to make me a fresh pot of coffee.

I want to sing it from the roof tops, because I do not say it enough, that I LOVE THIS MAN!

But our roof tops aren’t really conducive to singing or shouting, so I’m going all 3008 😉 and blogging it.

As I showered, the dense smell of coffee brewing wafted into the room and transported me back to the pastoral images of our courtship. I traveled time while I lathered and tarried with memories of Leo and I laying sprawled in the park, in my parent’s woods, on a porch swing, across the living room floor while he read aloud beautiful stories. Or we talked for hours. Or we simply dreamed near each other.

We don’t have time for that kind of luxuriating any more, but Leo still finds ways to woo me. And I treasure these new gifts I think sometimes more than I ever did the gifts of our earliest years together.

This man, besides working hard for our family, continues to lead daily with a servant heart. He cooks dinners, bathes children, vacuums, dusts, mows the lawn, creates laughter and comforts all of our broken hearts and frazzled days. He appreciates and values the things I do, both necessary and frivolous.

Many mornings, after he’s already left for work, I discover he’s made the bed or he’s cleaned the kitchen so I can start my day fresh. I can count on my hand the number of times I’ve had to pump my own gas this past year. I don’t even know the last time I changed the oil in the car. I hardly ever carry a bag of groceries through our door myself.

He’s encouraging and supportive and funny. And even on the days he doesn’t get it right. He says the wrong thing, or misses the point, I know it’s never for lack of effort or in malice.

I cannot imagine how different my life would be without the blessing of my husband. And today, I want the world to know how thankful I am to be joyfully bound to with man.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

4 responses »

  1. I’d be jealous right now except that my hubby is one of that exact some model. 🙂 I swear – it’s like you were describing my husband.

    I ‘ve been meaning to toot my man’s horn – the grin I have from your tooting your man’s horn inspires me to do the same.

    Good post!

    Reply
  2. Indeed, the way to a girl’s heart is not through diamonds and pearls, but coffee in the morning and a washed load of laundry in the afternoon. Lucky, lucky you!

    Reply
  3. Paul makes coffee every single morning. It’s those little acts of love, and the big ones too that remind me that I am so, so blessed with such an amazing man.

    Reply
  4. What they said!

    Thanks for the pics too, I love having an idea of what my online friends and their families look like!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

