RSS Feed

Unexpected. The good, the bad and the silent?

Posted on

How did court go today? Well, it went.

essentially, the case has been extended for another year. [insert eye roll here]

Mom surprised us all by arriving with her slimy, befuddled lawyer in tow. She was rearin’ and ready to fight.

Outside the court room she said big things while wagging her finger like:”You can’t start court until I’m ready to start court! It’s not her [judge’s] place to te-elllll me when court starts!” Hand up, neck roll, hip thrown. “And, I’m not sittin’ down ’cause you want me to sit down! You can’t tell me what to do! I’m sittin down ’cause I was goin’ to sit down on my own!” Hand up, neck roll, hip thrown.

Classy.

But, once we got into the court room, she was silent. Like, hardly said a word.

I don’t know what she was told before going in there, but she held it together for the entire 45 minutes. Which has got to be a record for her.

Her visitations have stopped. Good. Dad’s visits are unsupervised and longer. We’ll deal. The case is still going, going, going. Bummer.

We’ll have some meetings in the next few weeks to see if dad is willing to sign over rights. Leo and I are going to try to build a bond with him over the next few weeks ourselves. Perhaps if he can see our family together and see that he is welcome to know his son even with us, he’ll be more at ease with the option. Otherwise, I don’t know. It doesn’t seem possible that he can do this himself (so. many. issues.) and it doesn’t seem fair to keep dragging this on.

So, it wasn’t an entirely bad day, but it doesn’t really put us any closer to settled than we were yesterday. Sometimes c’est la vie, I suppose.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

2 responses »

  1. A year?! I read the rest, but kept going back to that. Why is it so hard for people to understand the way that limbo destroys children? I’ll be praying for a meeting of the minds and the quickest route to permanency for Simeon.

    Reply
  2. Where's the Party?

    I was going to say the exact same thing, except with more exclamation points: A year??!!! That’s stupid. Sure, give Dad some time, but give him increments of a few months to show progress, not a whole year.

    (Did Dad just recently enter the picture? Is that why the year? I may be getting Simeon’s story mixed up with someone else’s.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

