RSS Feed

Beautiful Blogger?

Posted on

Having a newborn is surprisingly time-consuming. I remember about six weeks ago, telling my sister-in-law that I couldn’t imagine my life slowing down much once the baby came. “After all, she’s just gonna lay there and eat.”

While this is technically true, I understand a little better why Daisy – dear was laughing as she hung up the phone.

It’s hard to blog one-handed. It’s also hard to make dinner, get dressed, grocery shop or make new bottles.

Hence the vanishing act I’ve been performing lately. I hope, very much, that I will be able to get back to blogging regularly again soon. It’s a much-needed therapy.

Still, despite my lack of silly stories and personal information overload, I have been given The Beautiful Blogger Award

This was exciting news to wake up to, but made especially precious because it came from Mama DramaTimes Two.

Y’all. Y’all.

If only you could know how much I admire Mama Drama and The Other Mother. These two ladies are foster parents extraordinaire. When I started searching out other people more experienced at parenting crazy than I, I stumbled upon these ladies and immediately fell in love. They are tough and generous and kind and best of all, funny. Time and time again I’ve clicked over to find encouragement and humor for my own foray into raising other people’s kids. These ladies are beautiful. Truly, beautiful. And this clumsy paragraph does not do either of them, or their blogs justice. You’ll just have to visit and see for yourself. I’m guessing once you click over, you’ll want to stay.

Now I bet you’d like to meet some of my other beautiful friends. Here’s how it works:

Post the award on your blog, link back to the person that gave it to you, and give it to whomever you want to. But make sure they are beautiful.

On with it already, right?

Nancy at Away We Go was one of my first real internet friends. This beautiful blogger is a kindred spirit. She’s smart and funny and writes posts I want to read again and again. In fact I often do read them again and again. This girl’s got a way with words and tells stories happy, sad, funny, poignant, gross and lovely. She’s got beautiful arms, a good man and two of the cutest stinkin’ kids I’ve ever seen. And if you’ve ever seen the kids come through my door, you’d know that I’m an expert on cute kids. Nancy, I love you. Thanks for becoming a friend. Across the miles and sound waves and internet waves?, I’ve found a friend in you. Thanks for being there.

Mommie2be over at Our Growing Family is one beautiful blogger. And by beautiful, I mean it. I’ve seen pictures. This lovely lady is another foster parent raising a precious baby girl and a little boy who appears to Simeon’s long-lost twin. Like for real. When I need someone who truly understands angry peeing, public displays of rage, self-sabotage, or the broken heart of a tiny boy, this is the girl I turn to. Mommie2be is transparent and real and beautiful. Mommie2be, I’m so glad I’ve found you. It’s so, so good to know I’m not alone. It’s so, so good to know that Simeon is not alone. I cannot wait to see what your family’s future holds!

Finally for today, I’ll be passing the torch to Mrs. Maggie Popp at Popp Life. Maggie Popp is another foster mama (I’ve finally found some community, even if it’s only through my lonely little laptop). I’ve been following Maggie’s ride with her latest placements and have laughed and cried and prayed and breathed great sighs of relief right along with her. She’s a beautiful face for foster care. She’s strong-willed and willing to work for her kids. I’m constantly awed by her ability to go, go, go. Maggie, you are an inspiration. Thank you for being real and honest and lovely. I’ve even adopted your catch phrase as my own: You should foster, you’d be great at it. Coming from someone like you, makes me believe it. Thanks for being a beautiful blogger friend.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

3 responses »

  1. What a beautiful way to start my day. Thank you so much.

    Reply
  2. I will cut that out and put it in a special place, because it means so much to me.

    I love you too. Let’s meet up in Charleston or Savannah sometime, someday. I have family in Charlotte, so it’s doable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

