RSS Feed

The nature of the beast

Posted on

Claudius was returned to family today.

We never saw it coming. We didn’t even know there was a hearing.

No one suspected this would happen so quickly.

*sigh* We all had a good cry.

I know his family loves him. It was apparent when they saw him. I knew we’d be saying goodbye at some point, I just doubt that things are right and ready so soon. I guess we’ll see.

In the meantime… there’s a little girl that may be in need of a loving home tomorrow. I guess I’d better go make sure the sheets are clean and ready in case she comes.

We must always have a revolving door to our home… and to our hearts.

Even at the worst of times, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

8 responses »

  1. I know your love for Claudius was deep. My heart hurts for all of you. I am sorry that it was sudden. You were a great mama for him and Leo was a great papa. You are right, the nature of the beast is surprising and not always gentle. Love you.

    Reply
  2. Oh, I’m so sorry that you had to say goodbye at such short notice. That has happened to us before, and it just makes it that much harder. I will be praying for your family and for your hearts. And for Claudius. He will remember your love. I’ll also be praying for the little girl that is possibly coming your way – she’d be blessed to end up in your home.

    Reply
  3. Truly understanding the hurt and happiness that lies within foster parenting. Reunification is not for the faint-hearted. You and your family, and Claudius and his family are in our thoughts and prayers.

    Reply
  4. Echoing everybody’s thoughts here, Friend. XOXO

    Reply
  5. Have I ever mentioned how much I admire you? Well, I do. You are one awesome woman and I admire your strength, your honesty and your love for these children. Hugs.

    Reply
  6. Where's the Party?

    Oh Monica! Grieve as much as you need. Sudden moves are so hard, for you and him. Good luck as you move forward.

    Reply
  7. I’m late, but sending a hug anyway.

    Reply
  8. I’ve been away for a few days so I’m just reading this post. My heart goes out to you. That’s a phone call that takes your breath and heart away. Bless you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

