RSS Feed

Regression is his love language

Posted on

Seriously. I feel like I’ve been hit in the face with a two by four.

How did I not see this day coming?

It started well.

Then there was a power struggle over the car door not being closed properly.

This made us late for one of his appointments.

On the way there, there was a power struggle over the window being down. He actually held the button the whole way. Only lifting his hands long enough to taunt me from the back seat.

I was like a calm sea. Deep breathing. Praying. Silently cursing. Praying.

His appointment was awesome! Of course there was a toy train at stake. At least he didn’t get kicked out… again.

Things were going great until he lost it. And I had to hold him. Kicking and screaming and punching for 20 minutes.

I was like a calm sea. Deep breathing. Praying. Silently cursing. Praying.

The rest of the evening was fine on the surface, but I could sense the crazy coming. Unfortunately, I wasn’t ready when it emerged. Darn sneaky thing!

He began by refusing to pick up blocks. No big. Then he began slamming my door against the wall. Over and over and over again. When I stood in front of it, he hit and screamed and kicked. He woke Claudius up. I finally pulled him out of my room and closed my door. I went to retrieve a screaming, scared Claudius.

Slam, slam, slam, slam….

His door.

I tried to stop him. I finally wrapped him in my arms and legs until he calmed enough to stop fighting.

He went to the corner of the room and screamed a shrill scream while I sang hymns.

I finally spritzed a little cold water in his face.

It worked. He melted into a little puddle on the floor.

It worked for a little while at least. He peaked again in the kitchen, where  he was trying to throw himself on the tile floor. I was trying to keep him from hurting himself when I caught him by the head. That did it. He collapsed in my arms.

I deposited him on the couch for about 10 minutes while I put Claudius back to bed and called Leo.

When I went back to get him, we had a little talk, then I asked him to pick up his blocks. He refused.

So I said good night and walked away. I left him on the floor of his room with no power.

Eventually, he picked up his blocks and I found him on the floor with his pillow. We had a quick snuggle before I tucked him into bed.

I’m so tired. I’m so done. Leo, come home.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

3 responses »

  1. Hang on and hold tight. I know you can do this. And for whatever its worth, I don’t think I could. Sending hugs – and a margarita, or five.

    Reply
  2. Lord, give her strength. Being a mom is no easy task, especially to one you did not give birth to. Praying for you, my dear. The Lord sees you, he knows.

    Reply
  3. I feel ya! It always feels like 2 steps forward, 10 steps back. But, all the pros tell me we’ll see progress eventually! You are doing great with Simeon, and he knows you love him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

