RSS Feed

A belated Happy Mother’s Day

Posted on

I would like to begin this post with a picture. This is my mother and I in 1985. Cute weren’t we? My mama’s hair is a little bit smaller. I’m a little bit bigger, but we pretty much look exactly the same. We do not, however, still wear matching dresses made from lace curtains. We sure were sweet lookin’, though.

This time last year, I wasn’t a mother.

Since then, I’ve been a mother to nine. NINE! That’s got to be some kind of record.

Boy, have I had a time getting rid of this baby weight!

I kid.

Back to the point. There was a point, wasn’t there?

This time last year I had no idea how much heartache, joy, excitement, rage, fear, exhaustion, energy, irritability, peacefulness and love motherhood brought. And today…

Today I think I only know a little bit. I have so much more to learn. So many more to love.

I’m thankful that I get to be a mother and that I have so many incredible mothers in my life.

A belated Happy Mother’s Day to you all.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

2 responses »

  1. How beautiful your mom was–and still is. And you were sooo..cute as a baby!! And, like your mom, beautiful now.

    Reply
  2. You used to be white?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

