RSS Feed

Well I didn’t see this one coming…

Posted on

Though I should have. A few nights ago Leo dreamed we’d be getting a baby girl.

This afternoon we got a call.

I had no idea who would be showing up at my door.

Her arrival has created more questions than answers. I know her name. I’ll call her Ophelia.

She’s a toddler. Her race is yet to be determined, though I imagine she’s at least part black.

I have no idea why she’s in care.

She came with the clothes on her back. A foster care bag. No shoes.

She screams, she climbs, she hits, she hits a lot.

She is having a very difficult time falling asleep. She doesn’t trust that we’re still here.

I get it. I feel for her. She’s suddenly in a strange home, with stange people who put her in a strange bed.

I hope, for as long as she’s here, she feels loved at least.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

5 responses »

  1. oh poor kid, i’m sure she will. i’m glad she’s safe with you.

    Reply
  2. Praying for you and your new little one.

    Reply
  3. Wow. Thats a lot – though the saying is true, we are never given more than we can handle. I know you’ll be wonderful for her. Sending prayers.

    Reply
  4. Praying for you and Ophelia! May she feel love, peace, and safety from harm. May she rest is the love that God has given you for her. Rest and peace for al of you! Still praying!!

    Reply
  5. She will feel love, for sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

