RSS Feed

I’m falling to pieces

Posted on

I was born with a genetic disorder called osteogenesis imperfecta. It means brittle bones at birth and you can learn just about all you need to know about it from M. Night Shyamalan’s Unbreakable.

I haven’t had an issue since I was 13 or 14. There are cases when someone with this disorder breaks most in childhood, then after adolescence lives a perfectly normal life. Sometimes it begins causing problems again in later adulthood. This is what we expected for me.

Earlier this week, I was picking up laundry and felt a pain in my hand, between my wrist and my thumb. Over the past couple of days, it swelled and is growing in discomfort. There is a hot spot, or isolated painful place. I can use all of the muscle pain free, but can bear no weight on it.

Today my mother confirmed my suspicions. It is most likely that I have a stress fracture. At the moment I have no plans to see the doctor about it. If it is a stress fracture, it’s difficult to find on  x-ray, and given the mobility I do have, it’s likely he wouldn’t do anything other than brace it. I can brace it myself.

I’m trying not to let my fears get the best of me, but given the fact that it didn’t break as a result of trauma, I’m feeling some stress. I’m mostly certain this is an isolated incident, that it’s a random happening and I probably have nothing to worry about. Still, nagging in the back of my mind are all the what-ifs.

From 8 months to 14, I had broken upwards of 50 or 60 times. At one point my legs were so broken, I was told I would never walk again. My breaks were frequent, unpredictable and in varying degrees of painful. Leo and I looked up and found the orthopedist I used to go to regularly. He’ll be researching insurance issues we may face (we pay privately for mine) so that should something come of this, we’re prepared.

I am hoping that bracing it myself and trying to bear weight in that hand discriminately will help it to heal quickly. I am hoping this is a one time, freak accident and that I will feel very foolish for all of my worry.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

6 responses »

  1. Praying for you, my friend.

    Reply
  2. I understand the worry. Prayers of health and quick healing to you.

    Reply
  3. Also covering you in prayer. This must be very challenging right now.

    Reply
  4. Linda Schulze

    I have laughed and cried with your blogs. Thanks so much for sharing your life! My love and prayers are with you!

    I think this is for you,

    “Do not fear, for I am with you;
    Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God.
    I will strengthen you, surely I will help you,
    Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”
    Isaiah 41:10

    Reply
  5. geez, could you please cut me off next time and say, “Who cares about your headache? I have a freaking broken bone!” You make me feel so silly sometimes that I complain at all about anything!

    And I’m praying for healing, today and always…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

