RSS Feed

An artist in the making…

Posted on

Also a mess. It snowed here. It’s been cold and there is at least 1/16th of an inch of snow on my porch and that makes me cranky. My nose is cold, my knees hurt, and I fear I’ll never be warm again. I was made for warm weather, this kind of cold is ridiculous and I’d like to know where I can send my complaints, ’cause Mama ain’t happy.

Because it is negative degrees outside, I’m refusing to leave the house. Simeon was getting a little stir crazy, and the freeze had made it’s way to my frontal lobes making it impossible for me to think rationally. I broke out the paints. I had bought Simeon a dollar lizard paint kit and he painted the lizard in about 3.4 seconds flat. So, I put the lizard up to dry and told him to go for it. What’s a little paint on the walls, ceiling, floor, kid, table, etc, etc, etc. for a little peace in doors.

I could have, would have been all over bearing and controlling with my damp paper towels and shrieks of “for the love of all things good, how hard is it to stay on the paper?!?!”, but then I was afraid the paper towel would freeze and I would do more damage than the paint ever could. So, I let my little boy be a little boy, grabbed my camera and enjoyed the artist at work. I must say, I am so glad I did.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

3 responses »

  1. I know, it’s so hard to see the mess and not lose one’s mind as they get. the. paint. everywhere.

    But, you did exactly what he needed. Way to go!

    (One of my favorite cold-weather things is to set O up at the kitchen sink with some bubbles and let him “wash dishes.” Keeps him happy for at least a half hour, although I have to pretend not to see the mess….)

    Reply
  2. Looking at these pictures gives me the shakes. (though they are really beautiful, aren’t they?). Bravo mama!

    Reply
  3. Mama Monica. I love reading your blog. You are such a thoughtful, patient, truthful, sweet loving mommy. You are sowing so much into those little boys lives, even if for a short time. May God bless you abundantly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

