RSS Feed

Melancholy and gray, but…

Posted on

I woke up this morning to Simeon fake crying. He does this when he wakes up before he’s ready, but then refuses to go back to sleep. He then demanded oatmeal he refused to eat. And at one point marched to the TV and turned off PBS in a final act of protest to the start of the day. Then he cried because he didn’t really mean it.

Hey, I’m with you kid.

I just looked out my window to find my favorite tree has finally given up it’s ghost and is prepared for the long sleep of winter. Save for a few dry leaves fiercely clinging to the boughs, the tree is thin and brittle and gray.

I’m trying to find the will to leave my barely warm house to brave The Walmarts for my holiday groceries, but staying in my barely warm house means that I will need to clean and organize and do laundry for Wednesday.

And yet.

Simeon is a beautiful boy, even when he’s not ready to greet the day (and I can’t blame him today). I’m looking forward to the first days of spring, when my favorite tree begins budding new leaves. I know that once my Walmart trip is done, I don’t have to go back for more than a week because we’re going to visit my parents who live 45 minutes away from the closest Walmart (and most any other signs of civilization, amen). And my house getting cleaned means that our siblings and nieces and nephew are coming over for the biggest, most fun spend the night party of the year.

Today is melancholy and gray, but I’m thankful for all that’s to come.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

3 responses »

  1. This is just lovely. I believe our sons are separated at birth. Owen and mornings are explosive.

    Reply
  2. Hi Monica,

    Stop by my blog when you get a chance for an award, if you’re interested.

    Reply
  3. yes.. im looking forward to the miles from civilization

    Reply

Leave a Reply

