RSS Feed

Monica, meet crazy…

Posted on

Simeon is doing better. By bed time last night he was back to his old self and this morning he woke up chipper as usual. We’ve had a really good day with the exception of two, bizarre fits of rage. The first was nap time. I told him it was time and for the first time, he said “I no wan to!” I said OK, then picked him up and put him in the bed where he screamed like he had been run through with a hot poker and immediately stood up. This lay down, scream, stand up routine happened several times. Finally I left him standing on the bed in the dark and when I returned minutes later he had tucked himself in and was seconds from sleep. The whole thing was really strange and unprecedented.

The second incident happened after Leo got home. Simeon is not  not allowed in our room without one of us. Leo and I were talking while I put away some bills on my desk and Simeon followed us in. When we walked out I turned to him and said “out.” I say that every time we leave my room and he knows to follow. In two months, this has never once been an issue. Today, when I said out, he froze. He refused to move through my asking, Leo’s asking and 1, 2, 3 counting, so I walked in, picked him up and put him down in the hallway, then closed the door. That’s when he turned crazy on in a serious way! He started screaming and dropped to the floor. He kept sitting up and screaming, then throwing his body to the floor. We ignored it for a while, but it got pretty piercing, so I told him that it was OK to feel angry and  that he was welcome to get his feelings out, but he needed to do it in his room so he didn’t disturb the whole family. When he didn’t move, I picked him up and put him in his room. He continued screaming and started banging his head on the floor as hard as he could.

Leo and I were shocked! We couldn’t believe what we were seeing. Afraid he would hurt himself, Leo picked him and once he calmed down, we put him in time out for not obeying and for throwing a fit. He did his time then got up and continued the evening as though nothing happened. He was like Jekyll and Hyde. So bizarre! I hope these were isolated incidents, ’cause I’m not ready for that much crazy every day.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

5 responses »

  1. Having had a few similar experiences in a certain situation, it always amazed me how the child could go on, happy as a lark, and all we adults involved would be like wet dish rags. It is not fair!!!

    Reply
  2. Oh wow.

    It’s so hard to see kids when they’re out of character. A lot of people are not themselves when sick or getting over sickness. I get really mean. I try not to, but I tend to get angry and hit people if they mess with me too much while I’m sick… Usually only if I have a fever though.

    It’s good he’s feeling better, but lets hope those incidents were indeed, isolated!

    Thanks for swinging by my blog. We should keep comment swapping. It’s nice to know someone cares, you know?

    Reply
  3. I don’t have a lot of background on Simeon as far as age or anything, but this sounds similar to what my children went through around 2 or 3. Sometimes they behave so out of character, and then later all is well. Hopefully that is the case here!

    Thanks for visiting my blog on my SITS day!

    Reply
  4. Oh, Jeez. Poor little guy. That’s heartbreaking, imagining the turmoil in such a young one 😦 I’m so glad he’s with you and you know what you’re doing.

    Stopped by to tell you that your Barbie fragment last week was my fave 🙂

    Reply
  5. My daughter was the queen of head butting, throw on the floor tantrums. Then Hunter got some great advice – next time she did it, he trwe himself on the floor and copied every bit she did. I had to hide – it was hillarious. But it was her very last self hurting tantrum ever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

