RSS Feed

ummmm… Yum!!!

Posted on

So I promised my amazing brocoli potato soup recipe, but I haven’t taken pictures yet and then I made this a-maize-ing soup tonight, so I’ll share this one! I’ve gotten lots of corn from the produce market I’ve been buying from, so I began looking up chowder recipes. I didn’t really like any of them completely, so I took what I did like, added my secret resuce ingredient and voil-a!

shucks!It’s easy breezy too! Here’s what I did:

6 or 7 ears of corn, shucked and kerneled, 3 potatoes (’cause that’s what I had) diced, 2 boxes reduced sodium chicken broth, sugar, allspice (’cause it sounded good), chives (entirely unneccessary, the added nothing), onion diced, minced garlic, milk, grits, lots of cheese.

I sauted the garlic and onion in the bottom of the pan then added everything but the grits and cheese. The soup was too brothy, so I added grits. That’s my way of fixing runny, watery, brothy, or bland: cheese and grits. It’s an amazing rescue for any soup or stew. Then I added all of the cheese I had in my fridge (there is always A LOT of cheese in my fridge) so maybe 2 1/2 bags. It seems like a lot, but this made enough for our meal tonight, 3 left over take to work meals and at least 2 or 3 more family dinners for the freezer.

The chowder was easy and delicious. Just the way I like it!

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

Leave a Reply

