RSS Feed

Friday Fragments- 7 things that are gross & 2 that aren’t

Posted on

It’s Friday Fragments over at Half past kissin’ again…

– I don’t use my height as an excuse often, but it is REALLY hard to clean the tub when you can’t reach across it without getting in! Blech..

– And on the subject of tubs… I bathe in mine at least 3 nights a week in the winter and when I clean it, I can’t see any dirt. Simeon has been with us for almost 2 months and every single time he bathes there is a grimy gray ring around the tub… even if he doesn’t look dirty prior to getting in. Boys are wonderful, mysterious, filthy creatures!

– Speaking of mysterious, Simeon’s room has taken on a mysterious odor. I vacuum regularly and change his sheets almost once a week (I bathe him almost every day, how is it possible everything gets so dirty??!!!), but every time I walk in his room there is a very strange, musty smell. I even looked under the bed for old food, or socks – nothing. I think I’ll call it eau d’boy. It’s so gross, I love it, I can’t get enough, is that weird?

– My house never looks as dirty as it does when it’s 2 hours out from my mother’s arrival.

-Simeon likes to take snacks with him when he goes to the potty. He puts them on the floor in front of him. It is so icky, but I can’t break him of the habit!

– When he sees something that grosses him out (our standards are so different!) He says “eeww, nutty mommy! eeww, nutty!!!” I find that hysterical. I think I need to get out more.

– Simeon shows me every single booger he pulls out of his nose. Why?

Two things not gross:

– We started putting a gate in front of Simeon’s room at night because he was getting up and wandering the house in the wee hours of the morning. Thursday morning Leo and I lay in bed, in the dark, listening to Simeon almost silently struggle to push the gate, pull it down, lift the latch and climb over. Finally we heard a very dry, very unamused “Help”- we waited – then a more dry, more annoyed “Help. Please.” I don’t know why, but we found that absolutely hysterical, perhaps it was the hour!

– I got my first basket from a produce co-op yesterday. We got green beans, dark lettuce, broccoli, tomatoes, bananas, apples, red pears, oranges, potatoes and corn. So fresh, so yummy, so well priced. My fruit basket runneth over, mmmmmmm!

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

6 responses »

  1. Love the Help, Help Please story!

    How cute!!

    Hallie

    Reply
  2. LOVE the baby gate story!! That is classic!!!

    Happy FF!

    Reply
  3. “Help please” that must have been so cute!!

    Reply
  4. Simeon sounds like a lot of boyish fun.

    Reply
  5. Would it be useful to rinse him off with the shower -before- the bath so that you don’t discover the ring-o-doom afterwards?

    The baby gate thing sounds so funny, I think I would’ve been laughing like crazy too!

    Reply
  6. He’s such a cutie pie…a dirty, stinky cutie pie, but nonetheless…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

