RSS Feed

It’s not you. It’s me.

Posted on

I see some of you have noticed my prolonged absence. Thank you for that.

Mostly, we’ve been absurdly busy. Apparently four children under five require a great deal of attention. Who knew?!

Seriously, though…

We have therapy 9 hours/week. Plus play dates and other outings leaves little time for blogging any more. I will try to be better though, promise.

In the mean time here’s life, in brief:

Cupcake: She’s starting to walk. And teethe. And squeal. And high five. And play peek-a-boo. And dance, etc. She’s buckets of fun right now. Except right now she has a fever, so she’s not exactly buckets of fun. But you get the idea.

Raj: He’s growing a voice which is nice most of the time. He is trying to be a bit of mouthy, though. We’re working on a balance. Everything in moderation, right? Other than that, he’s pretty much just getting into trouble with the rest of them.

Lyberty: Oh, this girl is my daily challenge. She’s beautiful and funny and creative. She’s also very anxious and hard to really connect with. Her affections seem more a barrier to intimacy. When she’s feeling anxious, she’s seriously off tha chain! Some days I can barely keep her reigned in, but she has enough moments of transparency to keep us going.

Simeon: Besides growing more handsome each day, he’s also facing his own daily battles. He struggles with anger. Mostly he struggles with the root of it, so when it over takes him, he blames the rest of us. He’s obsessed with becoming a mad scientist which I find completely delightful. He’s also showing great capacity to fiercely love and protect his siblings, which is a plus.

Therapy is helping me as much as it is them and I’m very thankful for it.

So that’s us as of late and in a nut shell. I’ll try to check in a bit more frequently. Lord knows I could stand to have someplace to brain dump once in a while.

About Monica

Christ following, husband loving, children hugging foster and adoptive mama.

5 responses »

  1. Been wondering about you. Glad all is well!

    Reply
  2. I feel you…on the insanely busy and on the need for brain dumps. :)

    Reply
  3. I’m so glad you wrote! I have been reading you since I started the licensing process, and now have my first placement.

    Reply
  4. I’ve been MIA lately too, partly for the same reason (4 kids 5 and under). Glad to hear everyone is doing well. :)

    Reply
  5. We’re 4 kids 4 and under over here, so I totally get it – my poor blog goes unattended for far too long at times! I love your perspective and ability to recognize challenges (and address them as opposed to sugarcoat them), but also see strengths in your kiddos – inspirational. Tanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

